Chemicals Northwest Awards Winners 2012


THE region’s £10bn chemical industry celebrated its achievements last Thursday night at the 2012 Chemicals Northwest Awards.
The event showcased the North West’s world-class chemical companies at a prestigious black-tie dinner at the Imperial War Museum North in Manchester.

Among the winners was Northwich-based Tata Chemicals Europe (formerly Brunner Mond), which took home the Chemicals Northwest Chairman’s Special Award.

Kirkby-based company, Ames Goldsmith, was awarded the Manufacturing Business title while Byotrol, of Daresbury, scooped the Innovation Award.

In total, seven companies received prizes in front of audience of around 250 people.

A collaboration between Warrington-based, Solvay Interox, and ACAL Energy, Runcorn, won the Sustainability prize and John Hogg Technical Solutions, Trafford Park, took the accolade for International Trade.

Other winners included Multisol Group, Nantwich, which received the Image Award while the STFC’s Innovations Technology Access Centre in Daresbury was named Service Provider of the year.

Chemicals Northwest operations manager, Duncan Simcock, highlighted the significance of the Awards as a showcase for the work of local companies operating in what remains the largest chemical producing area in the country.

He said: “This evening is about bringing together representatives from the region’s chemical-related industries and beyond to acknowledge and celebrate the work that takes place at a local level.

“The projects we’ve heard about tonight demonstrate that, despite tough trading conditions, our members are still investing in sustainability, innovation, processes and skills that benefit our modern world and the modern chemical industry.

Steve Elliott, CEO of the Chemical Industries Association and Chemicals Northwest chairman, said: “The North West chemical industry employs more than 50,000 people and it’s these individuals who are driving growth in the sector while also working to improve its public image.

“We are delighted to have this opportunity to acknowledge the hard work of all the finalists and I look forward to welcoming the winners to the CIA Awards later this year.”

Chemicals Northwest is a cluster organisation which supports the region’s chemical industry and has 150 members. It operates on a not-for-profit basis and is funded by member subscriptions and support from its owner, the Chemical Industries Association.

The full list of categories and winners:

– Innovation – Product or Service: Byotrol plc, Daresbury
– Sustainability – Manufacturing Excellence or Environmental Technology: Solvay Interox Ltd, Warrington / ACAL Energy Ltd, Runcorn
– Corporate Social Responsibility: Multisol Group, Nantwich & Irlam
– International Trade: John Hogg Technical Solutions Ltd, Trafford Park
– Service Business: STFC’s Innovations Technology Access Centre , Daresbury
– Manufacturing Business: Ames Goldsmith UK Ltd, Kirkby
– Chemicals Northwest Chairman’s Special Award: Tata Chemicals Europe Ltd, Northwich

For more information about Chemicals Northwest, please visit: 

For further information go to:

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *